MEAC Volleyball
The Latest in HBCU Sports and Culture

All-Time MEAC Volleyball team

The 50 year celebration continues as the all-time MEAC Volleyball team has been released by the conference. Here’s the list.

1 of 3
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

NORFOLK, Va., Nov. 30, 2020 – As the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) continues to celebrate its 50th anniversary during the 2020-21 academic year, the conference office now announces the Volleyball All-Time Team, presented by The Home Depot, comprised of 50 outstanding student-athletes throughout the conference’s history. 

Nearly 900 votes were cast for the Volleyball All-Time Team, with fans, media representatives, institution sports information contacts and others taking part. 

To be considered on the ballot, players must have been named to one of the following: First Team All-MEAC, MEAC Player of the Year, AVCA All-America or All-Region or a MEAC Hall of Fame inductee. 

The All-Time Team, listed in alphabetical order by players’ last names, features three MEAC Hall of Famers. 

  • Nicole Abreu, Florida A&M: 2017 First Team All-MEAC; 2016 MEAC Co-Rookie of the Year. 
  • Maria Andronova, Florida A&M: 2006 MEAC Player of the Year; Two-time First Team All-MEAC (2005, 2006); 2005 MEAC Tournament Outstanding Performer. 
  • Christine Anthony, North Carolina Central: 2012 First Team All-MEAC; 2012 MEAC Rookie of the Year. 
  • Vania Blake, North Carolina A&T State: 1998 MEAC Player of the Year; 1998 First Team All-MEAC; 1998 MEAC Tournament Outstanding Performer. 
  • Jovana Blazeski, Florida A&M: 2009 MEAC Player of the Year; Two-time First Team All-MEAC (2007, 2009); 2009 MEAC Tournament Outstanding Performer; 2007 MEAC Rookie of the Year. 
  • Edie Brewer, North Carolina A&T State: 2019 MEAC Co-Player of the Year; 2019 AVCA South Region Honorable Mention; 2019 First Team All-MEAC. 
  • Dorothy Buford, Morgan State: Two-time First Team All-MEAC (1998, 1999). 
  • Valentina Carrasco, Florida A&M: Two-time First Team All-MEAC (2017, 2018). 
  • Miajavon Coleman, Coppin State: 2018 MEAC Rookie of the Year; 2019 First Team All-MEAC. 
  • Assata Conway, Howard: Two-time First Team All-MEAC (2013, 2014). 
  • Gazelle d’Artois, Howard: Two-time First Team All-MEAC (2008, 2009).  
  • Tamia Dockery, Howard: 2018 MEAC Player of the Year; 2018 AVCA East All-Region Honorable Mention; Two-time First Team All-MEAC (2016, 2018). 
1 of 3
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

All-Time MEAC Volleyball team
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

On the field. Behind the basket. In the pressbox. Bringing you HBCU Sports like you've never seen it before.

Copyright © HBCU Gameday 2012-2019 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from HBCU Gameday is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to HBCU Gameday with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

To Top