CIAA Morgan State
Bowie State

All-Time CIAA Football Champions

The CIAA is the oldest conference created for Historically Black Colleges. Here are its champs for the last century-plus.

WSSU has won four of the eight titles given out since it returned to the CIAA.


2011Winston-Salem State
2012Winston-Salem State
2013No Champ (Game Cancelled)
2014Virginia State
2015Winston-Salem State
2016Winston-Salem State
2017Virginia State
2018Bowie State
2019Bowie State

*= Win Vacated

Most Championships:

  • Morgan State: 18
  • Virginia State/Winston-Salem State: 12
  • Virginia Union: 11
  • NC A&T/Shaw University: 5

Out of the teams that are still in the CIAA, Virginia State and Winston-Salem State are currently leading the conference with 12 championships each.

More Fun Facts:

  • Morgan State is not only 18x champions, winning 13 of those titles in 19 years, but they are also the only team to win five straight. championships in the CIAA. (1940-1944).
  • Hampton was the first team in the conference to win four straight championships (1913-1916).
  • Winston-Salem State is the only team in the conference to repeat after every win (1977-78, 1987-88, 1990-91, 1999-2000, 2011-12, 2015-16).
  • St. Aug and Chowan are the only two teams currently in the CIAA to have never won at least one football title.
  • Johnson C. Smith, Elizabeth City State and Bowie State all have one CIAA title

Pages: 1 2 3 4

All-Time CIAA Football Champions


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top