2017 Football

Amir Hall finishes fifth in Harlon Hill voting

CIAA Player Of The Year Amir Hall

Junior quarterback finishes behind two other quarterbacks.

Bowie State’s Amir Hall has finished fifth in the 2017 Harlon Hill voting.  Texas A&M University-Commerce senior quarterback Luis Perez of Chula Vista, California won this year’s trophyNo HBCU player has ever won the Harlon Hill Trophy, an award that recognizes the top player in Division II football.

Harlon Hill finalist Amir Hall

Amir Hall finishes fifth in Harlon Hill voting

Perez received 198 total points, finishing 63-points ahead of Gannon University junior running back Marc Jones who had 135 points. Division II sports information directors determine the winners through their voting process. In addition to Perez and Jones, Hall finished behind Slippery Rock University senior defensive lineman Marcus Martin. Senior quarterback Connor Jessop of Shepherd University finished ahead of Hall as well.  Hall received a total of 50 points in the voting process.

Numbers comparison

Perez threw for 4,678 yards and 44 touchdowns this season with a 70 percent completion rate.  Hall passed for 3,519 yards this season with 41 touchdowns and a 65 percent completion rate.

Perez will be presented with the Harlon Hill trophy on Friday, January 5.

Harlon Hill final votes

198 Luis Perez Senior QB Texas A&M-Commerce 44 25 16
135 Marc Jones Junior RB Gannon 22 27 15
96 Marcus Martin Senior DE Slippery Rock 13 16 25
61 Connor Jessop Senior QB Shepherd 8 12 13
50 Amir Hall Junior QB Bowie State 12 3 8
39 J.T. Luper Senior WR Central Oklahoma 2 11 11
24 Ja’Quan Gardner Senior RB Humboldt State 3 4 7
14 Brook Bolles Junior QB Central Missouri 1 3 5
12 Devontae Jackson Junior RB West Georgia 0 5 2
7 Harry Satterwhite Junior QB West Alabama 1 0 4




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top