CIAA Hall of Fame Class of 2021 announced

The CIAA has announced its 2020 John B. McLendon Hall of Fame Class, which includes an all-time great women’s hooper..

Kenny Phillips, Fayetteville State

Phillips served as the head football coach at Fayetteville State for a school record of 13 seasons from 2000-2012. During this time span Phillips posted 75 wins, the most in FSU history, with a .543 winning percentage while accumulating a 57-35 record in CIAA play.

Under Phillips the Broncos won three CIAA titles (2002, 2003, and 2009), made four CIAA Championship Game appearances (2002, 2003, 2004, and 2009), and advanced to the NCAA Division II playoffs three times (2002, 2003, and 2009). During his overall coaching career, Phillips won five conference titles and appeared in three bowl games.

Phillips collected several coaching honors and awards during his time as FSU’s head coach. In 2002 and 2009, he was named the CIAA Coach of the Year and was also honored as the Most Outstanding Coach of the 2002 CIAA Championship game.

Greg Toler, St. Paul’s College

Toler was a three-time All-CIAA selection (2005, 2007, 2008) and also named to the CIAA All-Rookie team after his freshman campaign in 2005. As a senior, he was named Virginia Small School Defensive Player of the Year and earned several All-American honors after recording six interceptions and 13 pass breakups while also blocking three kicks.

While at SPC, he set school records for a career with 14 interceptions, 36 pass breakups and 50 passes defended. Toler ranked as the No. 1 HBCU prospect after his senior season and was selected by the Arizona Cardinals in the fourth round of the 2009 NFL Draft.

He is the only player in the history of Saint Paul’s College to be selected in the NFL Draft. During his NFL career, Toler played in 88 games, including 49 starts, and tallied 277 tackles, 2 sacks, 4 forced fumbles and 8 interceptions.

Pages: 1 2 3 4

CIAA Hall of Fame Class of 2021 announced
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top