MEAC Basketball Court

MEAC responds to departure of NCAT

Release says that MEAC remains viable and sustainable

The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference released the following statement on Friday afternoon in response to North Carolina A&T leaving for the Big South Conference.

NORFOLK, Va., Feb. 7, 2020—The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Council of Chief Executive Officers (CCEOs), chaired by Dr. Wayne A.I. Frederick, President of Howard University, wants to confirm that the current makeup of MEAC member institutions are united to remain a viable and sustainable Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) conference and are committed to academic and athletic excellence for our students and student-athletes.

Dr. Frederick said, “The MEAC has a rich history of producing student-athletes that excel in sports as well as academics. We are committed to working with our partner institutions to meet their needs and ensure the future of the conference for generations to come.”

Dr. Wayne A. I. Frederick pictured second from left

The MEAC has had an excellent history since its founding in 1970, having graduated outstanding leaders for our country, such as Keisha Lance Bottoms (current Mayor of Atlanta – Florida A&M), Thurgood Marshall (former US Supreme Court Justice – Howard), Douglas Wilder (former Governor of Virginia – Howard), Bishop Robinson (first African-American police commissioner in Baltimore – Coppin State), Earl Graves (founder of Black Enterprise Magazine – Morgan State), Clyde Bishop (former U.S. Ambassador to the Marshall Islands – Delaware State), Yvonne B. Miller (first black woman elected to the Virginia statehouse – Norfolk State) Dan Blue (first African-American Speaker of the House in North Carolina – North Carolina Central) and Jim Clyburn (US Congressman – South Carolina State).


Our institutions have also produced exceptional professional athletes, such as Donnie Shell (Pro Football Hall of Fame – South Carolina State), Art Shell (Pro Football Hall of Fame – Maryland Eastern Shore), Harry Carson (Pro Football Hall of Fame – South Carolina State), Bob “Bullet” Hayes (Pro Football Hall of Fame/Olympic Gold Medalist – Florida A&M), David “Deacon” Jones (Pro Football Hall of Fame – South Carolina State), Willie Lanier (Pro Football Hall of Fame – Morgan State), Althea Gibson (first black woman to win Wimbledon – Florida A&M), Larry Little (Pro Football Hall of Fame – Bethune-Cookman) and Marvin “The Human Eraser” Webster (National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame – Morgan State).

Furthermore, other conferences have approached our member institutions about potential realignment; however, our members have felt that the MEAC is a great fit for their respective institutions and student-athletes academically, athletically, financially and from a branding standpoint. 

The MEAC will continue to explore conference expansion in the future, as we have done in the past, led by Dr. David Wilson, President of Morgan State University, who is the chair of the New Membership Committee.

We will work with North Carolina A&T State regarding its transition from the MEAC and wish them well on their new journey.

Again, the conference’s membership remains committed to the MEAC and looks forward to an even brighter future.

MEAC responds to departure of NCAT
1 Comment

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top