SIAC Football All-Conference awards announced

Jarman sweeps offensive MVP awards for Fort Valley State.

Courtesy: The SIAC

ATLANTA, Ga. (November 21, 2019) – Quarterback Slade Jarman of Fort Valley State headlines the 2019 All-Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Football All-Conference team earning this year’s Overall Player of the Year (MVP) and Offensive Player of the Year award. The team, which features 26 student-athletes covering eleven positions, was voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

Slade Jarman courtesy FVSU Athletics

Fort Valley State’s Defensive Lineman Demetrius Harris was named Defensive Player of the Year alongside Savannah State’s punt returner, Einaj Carter, who earned Freshman of the Year. 
Defensive End, Demetrice Lofton of Morehouse was tabbed Newcomer of the Year. 

Reginald Ruffin of Miles was named the 2019 SIAC Coach of the Year.
Fort Valley State’s Jarman was named this year’s Overall Player of the Year (MVP) and Offensive Player of the Year award and is the second Wildcat to win each award in almost a decade. The Florida native leads the conference in passing average (262.4 yards per game) and total offense collecting a total of 2,207 yards on the season allowing only five interceptions. Jarman was named BOXTOROW National Player of the Week and SIAC Offensive Player of the Week for three consecutive weeks this season. Prior to his season-ending leg injury, the senior quarterback set personal bests going 174-of-281 for 2,099 yards and 18 touchdowns for a 61.9% pass efficiency rating.
Demetrius Harris (Fort Valley State) has returned as a top contender in the conference and has been named this year’s Defensive Player of the Year after leading the conference in sacks (1.35 per game) and finishing second in the conference in tackles for loss collecting 1.95 tackles per game for a loss of 106 total yards. The Decatur, Ga. native led Division II in sacks and ranked at No. 8 in tackles for loss. Harris also led the conference in forced fumbles (0.60 per game) which is good for second in Division II.

Reginald Ruffin from Miles College

In his freshman season, Einaj Carter served as a leader for the Savannah State Tigers as they recorded the programs’ first winning season since. The New York native finished the season with 131 rushing yards on 32 carries. He had six catches for 96 passing yards and two touchdowns. Carter had 15 kick returns for 269 yards, averaging 17.9 a carry. 
Morehouse’s sophomore defensive end, Demetrice Lofton, earned this year’s Newcomer of the Year award after leading the conference in tackles for loss collecting 17 solo tackles and eight assisted tackles for a loss of 109 total yards this season. The Georgia native averaged 2.10 tackles this season and ranked No. 4 in all Division II. Lofton is also ranked second in the conference for sacks averaging 1.15 sack per game, good for fourth in Division II.
Reginald Ruffin, Head Football Coach at Miles College, was tabbed SIAC Coach of the Year after leading the Golden Bears to back-to-back conference titles in a 21-6 win over Albany State. In his eighth season leading the Golden Bears, Ruffin steered the Golden Bears to the NCAA Division II Football Championship for the second time in school history. Under Ruffin’s helm, the Golden Bears set a school record for victories in a single season, going 8-2 in the regular season and will make their first NCAA Playoff appearance since 2012. Miles led the league in total offense and was second in total defense. The Golden Bears’ rushing defense leads the conference and ranks 11th in the country.
Savannah State and Fort Valley State paced the all-conference teams with nine selections each. Central State, Miles, and Morehouse followed up with six selections respectively ahead of Kentucky State and Albany State who had four all-conference selections. Clark Atlanta and Lane placed three on this year’s all-conference teams preceding Benedict and Tuskegee rounded out the 2019 SIAC Football All-Conference team with one selection each.

2019 SIAC Football All-Conference Team

 First Team 

Offensive LinemanRoger WomackMilesSeniorBirmingham, Ala.
Offensive LinemanAaron ScrogginsMilesJuniorBessemer, Ala.
Offensive LinemanDarius ThomasCentral StateSeniorCincinnati, OH
Offensive LinemanEmmanuel BooneFort Valley StateSophomoreMacon, Ga.
Offensive LinemanJean CyriaqueMorehouseSeniorDurham, N.C.
Tight EndJontae BakerSavannah StateJuniorValdosta, Ga.
Wide ReceiverDalane Brown IICentral StateJuniorYoungstown, OH
Wide ReceiverAnthony EvelynLaneSophomoreAtlantic Beach, Fla.
Running BackTerraris SaffoldCentral StateSeniorHayneville, Ala.
Running BackBrett SylveKentucky StateRedshirt JuniorHammond, La.
QuarterbackSlade JarmanFort Valley StateSeniorPensacola, Fla.
Defensive LinemanDemetrice LoftonMorehouseSophomoreFairburn, Ga.
Defensive LinemanDemetrius HarrisFort Valley StateRedshirt JuniorDecatur, Ga.
Defensive LinemanJahseari PattersonFort Valley StateJuniorCairo, Ga.
Defensive LinemanJaylun ThomasMilesRedshirt JuniorSylacauga, Ala.
LinebackerJonathan MathisMorehouseSeniorStone Mountain, Ga.
LinebackerKailen AbramsCentral StateJuniorDetroit, MI
LinebackerMajeste HansberryFort Valley StateSophomoreAtlanta, Ga.
Defensive BackRobert CummingsBenedictSeniorMacon, Ga.
Defensive BackZach AndersonFort Valley StateJuniorCairo, Ga.
Defensive BackTerrance HarrisClark AtlantaJuniorAtlanta, Ga.
Defensive BackTyler ScottAlbany StateJuniorWimauma, Fla.
KickerGabriel BallinasAlbany StateJuniorGuadalupe, Mexico
PunterGiovanni LugoSavannah StateSeniorBelle Glade, Fla.
Punt ReturnerEinaj CarterSavannah StateFreshmanPoughkeepsie, N.Y.
Kick ReturnerAnthony EvelynLaneSophomoreAtlantic Beach, Fla.

Second Team

Offensive LinemanAnthony GeterKentucky StateRedshirt SophomoreMemphis, Tenn.
Offensive LinemanLee HumphreyMorehouseSeniorPlano, Ill.
Offensive LinemanTajavious JacksonSavannah StateSeniorCocoa, Fla.
Offensive LinemanMiquail HarveyAlbany StateJuniorColumbus, Ga.
Offensive LinemanDarrius HicksFort Valley StateJuniorCamilla, Ga.
Tight EndMontavious TinchMilesRedshirt JuniorElberton, Ga.
Wide ReceiverQa WalkerFort Valley StateSeniorMacon, Ga.
Wide ReceiverShemar BridgesFort Valley StateJuniorJacksonville, Fla.
Running BackKingston DavisLaneJuniorMontgomery, Ala.
Running BackSanto DunnMorehouseJuniorMiami, Fla.
QuarterbackCharles StaffordClark AtlantaSeniorMiami, Fla.
Defensive LinemanCam BrownSavannah StateSophomoreMonroe, Ga.
Defensive LinemanDerik DavisAlbany StateRedshirt SophomoreLeesburg, Ga.
Defensive LinemanDonta MarshallCentral StateJuniorToledo, OH
Defensive LinemanChris RobertsKentucky StateRedshirt SeniorFrankfort, Ky.
LinebackerMitchell SmileyMilesSophomoreHuntsville, Ala.
LinebackerN’Ktavious FloydMilesJuniorPhenix City, Ala.
LinebackerWalter YatesSavannah StateSophomoreGulf Breeze, Fla.
Defensive BackNy’em BozemanSavannah StateSophomoreJacksonville, Fla.
Defensive BackBrandon RobertsTuskegeeFreshman 
Defensive BackDedrick VanoverMorehouseJuniorGainesville, Fla.
Defensive BackJohn WilsonSavannah StateSeniorAmericus, Ga.
KickerGiovanni LugoSavannah StateSeniorBelle Glade, Fla.
PunterTy WoodsClark AtlantaSeniorMontgomery, Ala.
Punt ReturnerBrett SylveKentucky StateRedshirt JuniorHammond, La.
Kick ReturnerDerell WilliamsCentral StateFreshmanCincinnati, OH

Overall Player of the Year (MVP): Slade Jarman, Fort Valley State
Offensive Player of the Year: Slade Jarman, Fort Valley State
Defensive Player of the Year: Demetrius Harris, Fort Valley State
Freshman of the Year: Einaj Carter, Savannah State
Newcomer of the Year: Demetrice Lofton, Morehouse
Coach of the Year: Reginald Ruffin, Miles

SIAC Football All-Conference awards announced
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top