MEAC Football
2018 Football

A&T, Howard share top billing on MEAC all-conference squads

North Carolina A&T and Howard led the way in the MEAC all-conference football awards.

North Carolina A&T State University (7) and Howard (6) led the way in the 2018 MEAC all-conference football voting with a combined 12 student-athletes named to the first team. The team is voted on by the MEAC’s head football coaches and sports information directors.

For the fourth consecutive year, the MEAC’s Offensive Lineman of the Year award will remain in Greensboro, N.C. as North Carolina A&T State’s Micah Shaw received the honor. Howard’s Dedrick Parson was tabbed as the league’s Freshman of the Year while North Carolina A&T State’s Sam Washington was selected as Coach of the Year.

In a partnership with the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame, the league’s Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year will be announced as part of the festivities surrounding the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, Tuesday, Dec. 4, at the Hilton Midtown in New York City. The event will be streamed live at 9:30 a.m. via the NFF website.

Shaw was a key player on North Carolina A&T State’s offensive line as the unit produced the lone 1,000-yard rusher in the MEAC this season. A two-time MEAC Offensive Lineman of the Week, opposing defenders had trouble getting to the Aggies’ backfield as the unit only allowed 12 sacks in the regular season. Despite the departure of four starters from last year’s unit, the Aggies finished no less than third in the MEAC in scoring offense, total offense, rushing offense, sacks against, first downs, third down conversions and fourth down conversions.

Parson became the second consecutive student-athlete from Howard to win Freshman of the Year. The Philadelphia, Pa. native finished third in the MEAC in rushing with 706 yards and second with nine rushing touchdowns. He exploded onto the scene midway through the season as he rushed for 148 yards and two touchdowns at Morgan State and a 26-carry, 149-yard performance versus Florida A&M. He closed out the season with a three-touchdown performance versus Bryant.

Washington kept the Aggie train rolling as North Carolina A&T State won its second consecutive outright MEAC Championship and fourth title in five years in his first season as head coach. Under Washington’s watch this season, the Aggies won their third straight contest versus a Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) opponent while also defeating the number six ranked team in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) ranks. The Aggies finished the regular season ranked 11th in both the STATS FCS and FCS Coaches Polls. Washington is the third person in school history, joining Hornsby Howell (1968) and George Small (2003), to win a conference title in his first season as the Aggies’ head football coach. North Carolina A&T State will represent the MEAC in the Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl for the third time on Dec. 15 in Atlanta, Ga.

Listed below are the 2018 All-MEAC teams:

2018 MEAC Football All-Conference Teams

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Micah Shaw, North Carolina A&T State
Rookie of the Year: Dedrick Parson, Howard
Coach of the Year: Sam Washington, North Carolina A&T State

QB Caylin Newton So. Howard Atlanta, Ga.
RB Marquell Cartwright Sr. North Carolina A&T State High Point, N.C.
RB Isaiah Totten So. N.C. Central Apex, N.C.
WR Jequez Ezzard Jr. Howard College Park, Ga.
WR Kyle Anthony Jr. Howard Miramar, Fla.
TE Justin Chaney Sr. Howard Hammond, La.
C James Holmon Gr. Howard Augusta, Ga.
OL Marcus Pettiford Jr. North Carolina A&T State Durham, N.C
OL Micah Shaw Sr. North Carolina A&T State Fayetteville, N.C
OL Obinna Nwaknwo Jr. Florida A&M Miramar, Fla.
OL Tyler Shadrach Gr. Howard Teaneck, N.J.
DL Darryl Johnson Jr. North Carolina A&T State Kingsdale, Ga.
DL Marques Ford Jr. Bethune-Cookman Gibsonton, Fla
DL Antonio Miller Sr. Florida A&M Lakeland, Fla.
DL Stefen Banks Sr. Savannah State Columbus, Ohio
LB Brian Cavicante Jr. Delaware State Portsmouth, Va.
LB Ian McBorrough Jr. Morgan State Essex, Md.
LB Nigel Chavis Jr. Norfolk State Richmond, Va.
DB Mac McCain III So. North Carolina A&T State Greensboro, N.C.
DB Davanta Reynolds Sr. N.C. Central Tucker, Ga.
DB Donte Small So. Morgan State Union, N.J.
DB Timadre Abram Sr. North Carolina A&T State Lakeland, Fla.
P Chris Faddoul So. Florida A&M Wesley Chapel, Fla.
PK Adam Lippy Fr. N.C. Central Tucker, Ga.
RS Malik Wilson Sr. North Carolina A&T State Burlington, N.C.
QB Lamar Raynard R-Sr. North Carolina A&T State High Point, N.C.
RB Dedrick Parson R-Fr. Howard Philadelphia, Pa.
RB Deshawn Smith Jr. Florida A&M Brooksville, Fla.
WR Elijah Bell Jr. North Carolina A&T State Wheeling, W.Va.
WR Xavier Smith Fr. Florida A&M Haines City, Fla.
TE Sherman McLeod Fr. N.C. Central Raleigh, N.C.
C Mike Terry Jr. South Carolina State Duluth, Ga.
OL Loubens Polinice Gr. Florida A&M Daytona Beach, Fla.
OL Dwayne Brown Sr. Bethune-Cookman Indianapolis, Ind.
OL Robbie Stephenson Sr. South Carolina State Fairburn, Ga.
OL Nick Leverett Gr. N.C. Central Concord, N.C.
DL Justin Cates Jr. North Carolina A&T State Goldsboro, N.C.
DL Rico Kennedy Jr. Morgan State Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
DL Julian McKnight Sr. North Carolina A&T State Conyers, Ga.
DL Bruce Johnson Sr. South Carolina State Greenwood, S.C.
LB Antoine Wilder Jr. North Carolina A&T State Riverdale, Ga.
LB Damari Whitaker Sr. Morgan State Washington, D.C.
LB Marquis Hendrix Jr. Bethune-Cookman Ocala, Fla.
DB Keyjuan Selby Sr. Delaware State Bear, Del.
DB Alex Brown Sr. South Carolina State Holly Hill, S.C.
DB Trevor Merritt Jr. Bethune-Cookman Rockledge, Fla.
DB J.T. Wahee Jr. Norfolk State Norfolk, Va.
P Taylor Goettie So. Norfolk State Lexington, Ga.
PK Yahia Aly Sr. Florida A&M Whittier, Calif.
RS Jimmie Robinson Sr. Bethune-Cookman Palm Coast, Fla.
QB Ryan Stanley R-Jr. Florida A&M Pembroke Pines, Fla.
RB Brycen Alleyne Sr. Delaware State Wilmington, Del.
RB Jah-Maine Martin So. North Carolina A&T State Conway, S.C.
WR Zachary Leslie So. North Carolina A&T State Lawndale, N.C.
WR Chad Hunter So. Florida A&M Tallahassee, Fla.
TE Leroy Hill Sr. North Carolina A&T State Fayetteville, Ga.
C L’Dre Barnes So. Bethune-Cookman St. Petersburg, Fla.
OL Joshua Miles Sr. Morgan State Baltimore, Md.
OL Kaiden Crawford Jr. Delaware State Philadelphia, Pa.
OL Alex Taylor Jr. South Carolina State Monks Corner, S.C.
OL Liki Seu So. Delaware State Bellflower, Calif.
DL Kawuan Cox Jr. N.C. Central Summerville, S.C.
DL Darius Royster Sr. N.C. Central Chesapeake, Va.
DL Paul McKeiver Jr. South Carolina State Batesburg, SC
DL Damu Ford Sr. South Carolina State Dillon, S.C.
LB Mulik Simmons Sr. Savannah State Savannah, Ga.
LB Elijah Richardson Jr. Florida A&M Port St. Lucie, Fla.
LB Marcellos Allison Jr. Howard Durham, N.C.
DB Jahad Neibauer Jr. Delaware State Harrisburg, Pa.
DB Tydarius Peters Jr. Bethune-Cookman Jayess, Miss.
DB Bobby Price Jr. Norfolk State Virginia Beach, Va.
DB Terry Jefferson Jr. Florida A&M Miami, Fla.
P Jerome Pettiway Sr. South Carolina State York, S.C.
PK Alex Raya Sr. Morgan State Beaumont, Calif.
RS Marcus Taylor Sr. Norfolk State Highland Springs, Va.
A&T, Howard share top billing on MEAC all-conference squads
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top