SIAC All-Conference awards announced

Backup QB wins league MVP.

Courtesy: SIAC

ATLANTA–Quarterback Ahmad Deramus of Tuskegee headlines the 2018 All-Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Football All-Conference team after earning the Overall Player of the Year (MVP) while Running back Santo Dunn of Morehouse earned Offensive Player of the Year award. The team, which features 26 student-athletes covering eleven positions, was voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

The SIAC Football Championship is scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 10 and will feature the 2018 Defensive Player of the Year, Linebacker Austin Stephens of Miles. Defensive End D.J. Horne of Tuskegee earned Freshman of the Year plaudits while wide receiver Kevin Greenhow of Central State has been named Newcomer of the Year.

Rich Freeman of Morehouse was tabbed the 2018 SIAC Coach of the Year.

Ahmad Deramus of Tuskegee earned the Overall Player of the Year (MVP) award and is the first Golden Tiger to receive this award since 2015. The junior quarterback is currently No. 24 in Division II and leads the league in passing efficiency completing 54.2 percent of his passes allowing only four interceptions on the season. Deramus is currently majoring in Business Finance and has earned the Offensive Player of the Week award twice this season.

Sophomore running back Santo Dunn of Morehouse leads the league in rushing yards (790), scoring (8.7 points per game), and scoring touchdowns (13). The Miami, Florida native is also ranked No. 38 in Division II in rushing yards, tied for No. 25 in scoring and for No. 17 in total touchdowns. One of Dunn’s top performances came against Division I opponent, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, as he led the Maroon Tiger offensive attack finishing with 159 rushing yards on only 14 carries. This performance earned Dunn the Offensive Player of the Week accolade during the first week of this season.

Austin Stephens of Miles garnered the title of Defensive Player of the Year after leading the league and being tied at No. 34 in Division II in tackles. The Munford, Ala. native collected 50 solo and 58 assist tackles for a total of 108 tackles on the season.

Freshman defensive end D.J. Horne is tied at No. 8 in the league in sacks (4) on the season and has secured the Freshman of the Year award. The Lawrenceville, Ala. native is the first Golden Tiger to receive this award since its introduction in 2013. Horne’s rookie season consisted of 23 tackles on the season (14 solo; nine assisted), five quarterback hurries, a forced fumble, and a breakup.

Kevin Greenhow of Central State has made history as he is the first Central State player to receive a regular season award in the Marauders Division II era within the league. After being named Newcomer of the Week for three consecutive weeks, Greenhow finished the season posting 880 receiving yards and nine touchdowns with his best performance coming against Western opponent, Tuskegee. The 6’3 wide receiver currently leads the league in receiving yards and is the first Marauder to record back-to-back games of 200 or more receiving yards since the 1995 season. Ending the season with a 5-5 overall record, CSU tied its best record since the program was reinstated in 2005.

Freeman, a 15 year veteran of the football coaching fraternity just completed his eleventh season at Morehouse College. Hired in March of 2007, Freeman directed his first Morehouse team to a surprising 7-3 record and into the upper echelon of the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC), where the Maroon Tigers took permanent residence, with the mantra, “Play Fast, Hard, and Smart”. The Maroon Tigers end the 2018 campaign repeating their 2007 record with a 7-3 overall record and a second place finish in the SIAC eastern division after being picked to finish fourth in the pre-season predicted order of finish.

Morehouse led the all-conference teams with eleven selections. Tuskegee followed up with ten selections ahead of Kentucky State who had six selections. Albany State, Benedict, and Central State placed five on the all-conference team preceding Fort Valley State and Miles who place three each. Clark Atlanta and Lane rounded out the 2018 SIAC All-Conference team with two selection each.

2018 SIAC Football All-Conference Team

First Team

Martesse Patterson Offensive Lineman Tuskegee Columbus, Ohio
Jean Cyriaque Offensive Lineman Morehouse Durham, NC
Justin Brown Offensive Lineman Benedict Marietta, Ga.
Marcus Campbell Offensive Lineman Kentucky State Radcliff, Ky.
Rochelin Romain Offensive Lineman Tuskegee Pompano Beach, Fl.
Ryan Edwards Tight End Morehouse Atlanta, Ga.
Leonard Tyree Wide Receiver Miles Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Kevin Greenhow Wide Receiver Central State Columbus, Oh.
Santo Dunn Running Back Morehouse Miami, Fl.
Terraris Saffold Running Back Central State Hayneville, Ala.
Trent Mays Quarterback Central State Stuebenville, Oh.
Ricky Holmes Defensive Lineman Benedict Baltimore, MD.
Kameron Rogers Defensive Lineman Clark Atlanta Washington, D.C.
Terance Leatherwood Defensive Lineman Tuskegee Northport, Ala.
Brayce McKinzie Defensive Lineman Lane Geneva, Fl.
Kailen Abrams Linebacker Central State Detroit, Mi.
Austin Stephens Linebacker Miles Munford, Ala.
Davoris Thomas Linebacker Tuskegee Mobile, Ala.
Camron Young Defensive Back Fort Valley State Eastman, Ga.
Robert Cummings Defensive Back Benedict Macon, Ga.
Mandell Ray Defensive Back Morehouse Lafayette, Ala.
Traviontae Brown Defensive Back Benedict Albany, Ga.
Gabriel Ballinas Kicker Albany State Guadalupe, Mexico
Turner Warren Punter Kentucky State Louisville, KY
Michael Nero Punt Returner Kentucky State Louisville, KY
Michael Nero Kick Returner Kentucky State Louisville, KY

Second Team

Darrius Hicks Offensive Lineman Fort Valley State Camilla, Ga.
Trey Wilson Offensive Lineman Morehouse Lawrenceville, Ga.
Aaron Scroggins Offensive Lineman Miles Bessemer, Ala.
Lee Humphrey Offensive Lineman Morehouse Plano, Il.
Cordarius Smith Offensive Lineman Tuskegee Columbus, Ga.
Robert Corbin, Jr. Tight End Central State Cincinnati, Oh.
Tremell Gooden Wide Receiver Morehouse Atlanta, Ga.
Javarrius Cheatham Wide Receiver Tuskegee Greenville, Ala.
Tracy Scott Running Back Albany State Greenville, S.C.
McKinley Habersham Running Back Albany State Savannah, Ga
Michael Sims Quarterback Morehouse Detroit, Mi.
Antonio Johnson Defensive Lineman Morehouse Birmingham, Ala.
Devonta Ramseur Defensive Lineman Tuskegee Shelby, North Carolina
Deonte Jackson Defensive Lineman Albany State Fairburn, Ga.
Charles Williams Defensive Lineman Benedict Barnwell, S.C.
Julien Turner Linebacker Morehouse Pickerington, Oh.
Kalil Gray Linebacker Tuskegee Union City, Ga.
Myrthel Stewart Linebacker Kentucky State Glenwood, Ill.
Kelvin Murray Defensive Back Morehouse Orlando, Fl.
Darnell Hill Defensive Back Tuskegee Miami, Fla.
Rorrick Steward Defensive Back Tuskegee Decatur, Ala.
Matthew Bizmana Defensive Back Kentucky State Louisville, KY
Carlos Saldana Kicker Clark Atlanta Austell, Ga.
Gabriel Ballinas Punter Albany State Guadalupe, Mexico
Lorenzo Smothers Punt Returner Fort Valley State Buena Vista, Ga.
Anthony Evelyn Kick Returner Lane Atlantic Beach, FL

Overall Player of the Year (MVP): Ahmad Deramus, Tuskegee
Offensive Player of the Year: Santo Dunn, Morehouse
Defensive Player of the Year: Austin Stephens, Miles
Freshman of the Year: D.J. Horne, Tuskegee
Newcomer of the Year: Kevin Greenhow, Central State
Coach of the Year: Rich Freeman, Morehouse

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top