2017-2018 Basketball

Morgan State picked to win MEAC hoops title

The Bears also have their star forward selected as preseason Player of the Year.

The MEAC says the team to beat this year in men’s basketball will be Morgan State.  On Thursday the conference announced Morgan State senior forward Phillip Carr as its Preseason Player of the Year along with selecting the Bears to win the MEAC.

All awards are voted on by the conference’s head coaches and sports information directors.


Carr drives to the front

Carr led the MEAC in rebounds last season, wiping the glass for 9.5 boards per game.  He was also seventh in scoring averaging 16.6 points per game.  Carr is the first Bear to be named preseason Player of the Year in the last seven years, Kevin Thompson gained the honor in 2010.

Morgan State was 11-5 in MEAC play last year, and during the voting process they picked up 13 first-place votes.  The last time the Bears were picked to win the MEAC was before the 2011-12 season.  MSU is led by Todd Bozeman, who’s in his 12th year as head coach.  Bozeman became the all-time winningest coach at MSU last year with a road win at South Carolina State.


Norfolk State was picked to finish second while defending MEAC regular season and postseason champions North Carolina Central was picked to finish third.  Rounding out the rest of the preseason poll are Hampton, Savannah State, Maryland Eastern Shore, S.C. State, Howard, Bethune Cookman, Delaware State, Florida A&M, Coppin State, and North Carolina A&T State.

2017-18 Predicted Order of Finish

As voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors; first-place votes are in parentheses.

School Points
1. Morgan State (13) 305
2. Norfolk State (3) 292
3. N.C. Central (6) 279
4. Hampton (2) 276
5. Savannah State (1) 195
6. Maryland Eastern Shore 177
7. S.C. State (1) 153
8. Howard 139
9. Bethune-Cookman 136
10. Delaware State 119
11. Florida A&M 113
12. Coppin State 103
13. North Carolina A&T 79

2017-18 Preseason All-MEAC Teams

As voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors. 

Preseason Player of the Year: Phillip Carr, Morgan State

Phillip Carr Morgan State F 6-8 200 Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Tiwian Kendley Morgan State G 6-5 190 Sr. Harlem, N.Y.
Zaynah Robinson Norfolk State G 5-11 180 Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
Brandon Tabb Bethune-Cookman G/F 6-4 180 Sr. Hampton, Va.
Charles Williams Howard G/F 6-6 185 So. Richmond, Va.
Jermaine Marrow Hampton G 5-10 165 So. Newport News, Va.
Dexter McClanahan Savannah State G 6-4 180 Jr. Stockbridge, Ga.
Desmond Williams Florida A&M F 6-6 208 Sr. Atmore, Ala.
Ryan Andino Maryland Eastern Shore G 6-1 185 Sr. Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
Alex Long Norfolk State F 6-8 220 Jr. Clinton, Md.
Dejuan Clayton Coppin State G 6-2 170 So. Bowie, Md.
Davaris McGowens North Carolina A&T F 6-7 235 Sr. Taylors, S.C.
Pablo Rivas N.C. Central F 6-6 200 Sr. Colon’, Panama
Kavon Waller Delaware State F 6-6 210 Sr. Chester, Va.
Marcus Barham Florida A&M G 6-5 185 Sr. Melbourne, Fla.


1 Comment

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top