The Earlys: D1 HBCU Hoops Awards

Welcome to the first-ever Earlys, our salute to the top players in D1 HBCU Hoops. The awards are named after the Winston-Salem State star who averaged over 41 points per game and led his school to an NCAA Title.

The individual awards are also named after HBCU hoops legends.

Bobby Phills Award-Patrick Miller, Tennessee State
Like the late Southern University star, Miller can fill it up on offense and take your cookies on defense. With Robert Covington gone and Tennessee State struggling, Miller increased his production nearly nine points over his 2012-2013 average. Oh yeah, and he’s got ups too.

Sam Jones Award-Jeremy Ingram, NC Central

Safe to say Ingram won’t win 10 NBA titles like his NCCU predecessor did, but Ingram accomplished something Jones never did in Durham-winning a conference title.

Anthony Mason Award-Du’Vaughn Maxwell, Hampton

Like the former New York Knick enforcers, Maxwell does a little bit of everything, including the dirty work . The MEAC Defensive Player of the Year averaged just under 3 blocks and 1 steal per game, while leading the Pirates in scoring at just under 15 points per game.

Marvin “The Human Eraser” Webster Award-Ian Chiles, Morgan State

Childs may have not put up the scoring and rebounding numbers Webster did, but his 3 blocks per game were huge. He had 18 games where  he blocked three or more shots per game. He also scored a career high 15.7 points per game.

Willis Reed Award- Aaric Murray, Texas Southern

It took Aaric Murray a few years, and a few schools, but he finally found a home at Texas Southern. His 48 point outburst at Temple, as well as leading TSU to the SWAC title and him carrying it in the NCAA Tourney showed flashes of NBA-potential.

Avery Johnson Award- Emmanuel “Poobie” Chapman, NCCU 

This award goes to the best pure point guard and leader, both of which Chapman exemplified. Chapman teamed up with Ingram to form a dominating backcourt for the 28-6 Eagles. Chapman leaves NCCU as the school’s all-time assist leader, which is a pretty big deal.

Lindsey Hunter “Go To Hell Ball” Award-James Daniel, Howard University

Hunter never saw a shot he didn’t like at JSU, and Daniel wasn’t too shy his first season at HU, either. The freshman shot just 37 percent from the floor, but still managed to lead the MEAC in scoring at 21 ppg.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top