HBCUs in the hunt for NCAA Bowling Championship

CIAA Bowling

Can one of our schools roll their way to a title?

Three HBCUs will compete for the NCAA Bowling Championship next month. Bowie State University, Prairie View A&M and Maryland Eastern Shore are all in the twelve team field after winning their respective conference championships.

The Bowling Championship isn’t broken down by divisions like most NCAA sports, hence the Division II and Division I HBCUs competing for the same title.

The field also includes Arkansas State University, Sacred Heart University, Sam Houston State, Caldwell University, McKendree University, Medaille College, Nebraska, and Vanderbilt.

Four teams will be placed into the championship bracket, with the remaining eight teams competing in opening- round matches to finalize the championship bracket. Opening-round matches are as follows:

DateMatchVenueLocationHost Institution
April 5Stephen F. Austin vs. Prairie View A&MEmerald BowlHouston, TexasPrairie View A&M
April 6Maryland Eastern Shore vs. Bowie State
Sacred Heart vs. Caldwell
Millsboro LanesMillsboro, DelawareMaryland Eastern Shore
April 9Arkansas State vs. MedailleRollHouse WickliffeWickliffe, OhioMid-America Conference

The championship matches will be played April 11-13 at RollHouse Wickliffe in Wickliffe, Ohio.

The championship bracket will be a double-elimination, with each round consisting of a best-of-three match that includes the use of three team game formats- baker total pin fall,five– person team match and a best-of-seven baker match play. The champion will be determined using a  best-of-seven baker match play. The championship final will air at 6:30 p.m.Eastern Time, Saturday, April 13 on ESPNU.

Vanderbilt University won the 2018 National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship at Tropicana Lanes in St. Louis, Missouri defeating McKendree University.

1 Comment

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top