Fayetteville State, Bowie State lead off All-CIAA honors

Fayetteville State and Bowie State got big time honors ahead of the big game for the CIAA title.

Richard Hayes’ top priority on Saturday will be stopping Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall in the CIAA Championship Game. On Friday both men were recognized by the CIAA for being the best in their category.

Hayes was named CIAA Coach of The Year on Friday after leading Fayetteville State to its second division title in as many years. The third-year head coach will seek to win his first title and the program’s first since 2009 on Saturday. He led his team to a 6-2 regular season after two games were lost to Hurricane Florence.

Hall was named the conference’s offensive player of the year for the second time in three years. The record breaking quarterback completed 288 of 435 passes for 3,325 yards and 27 touchdowns during the 10 games of his final regular season.

Shaw’s Devon Hunt was named the conference’s defensive player of the year. He led the conference in tackles with 98 and recorded four sacks.

Joining his head coach in league honors was Brandon Smith, who was named the CIAA Special Teams Player of The Year. The sophomore returned three kicks for touchdowns for FSU.

Bowie State’s Joshua Pryor was named the CIAA Defensive Rookie of The Year. He finished second in the CIAA with 9.5 sacks. Winston-Salem State quarterback Dominique Graves was named the conference’s Offensive Rookie of The Year. He led WSSU to a 4-1 record as a starter.

First Team All-CIAA

Tight End
Kevonta Moses, Shaw

Offensive Linemen
Tyreek Bailey, Fayetteville State
Keanu Gonzales, Shaw
Donald Boone, Chowan
Shamdu Nalls, Virginia Union
Frank Ball, Virginia State

Wide Receivers
Lansana Sesay, Bowie State
Torry Baker, Chowan

Amir Hall, Bowie State

Running Backs
Tabyus Taylor, Virginia Union
Tyrell Freeman, Chowan

Kick Returner
Brandon Smith, Fayetteville State

Place Kicker
Jefferson Souza, Virginia Union

Defensive Linemen
Solomon Bassett, Lincoln (PA)
Oluwaleke Ajenifuja, Bowie State
Jarell Bright, Winston-Salem State
Joshua Pryor, Bowie State

Devon Hunt, Shaw
Patrick Prosser, Virginia State
Joseph Harris, Saint Augustine’s

Defensive Backs
Sterling Hammond, Virginia Union
Elvin De La Rosa, Fayetteville State
George Parker, Chowan
Daryus Skinner, Winston-Salem State

Punt Returner
Tyeous Sharpe, Fayetteville State

Second Team All-CIAA

Tight End
Brandon Duncan, Livingstone

Offensive Linemen
Darell Cherubin, Chowan
Justice Davis, Bowie State
Quincy DIckens, Fayetteville State
Christopher Wissman, Bowie State
Khari Johnson, Virginia Union

Wide Receivers
Montez Clay, Bowie State
Paul Gooden, Chowan

Bryce Witt, Chowan

Running Backs
Stevie Green, Fayetteville State
Kerrion Moore, Winston-Salem State

Kick Returner
Maurice Williams, Bowie State

Place Kicker
Sean Smith, Saint Augustine’s

Defensive Linemen
Rafiq Abdul-Wahid, Chowan
Brandon Jackson, Saint Augustine’s
Tyron Roberts, Winston-Salem State
Derrick Tate, Bowie State

Tyrone Glanton, Virginia Union
Taj Conway, Virginia Union
Patrick Green, Winston-Salem State

Defensive Backs
Quantaye Battle, Virginia Union
William Flowers, Bowie State
Kurtis Brooks, Fayetteville State
Tevin Singleton, Bowie State

Punt Returner
Jaiden Reavis, Virginia Union

Honorable Mention

Tight End
Chris Brooks, Fayetteville State

Offensive Linemen
Aaron Ray, Chowan
Donte Wooten, Chowan
Zachary Wilcox, Virginia State
McDane McFarlane, Bowie State
Jaylan Galloway, Fayetteville State

Wide Receivers
Daniel Bender, Shaw
Marquis Gorham, Shaw

Cordelral Cook, Virginia State

Kick Returner
Andre Jackson, Virginia State

Place Kicker
Gene Carson, Bowie State

Defensive Linemen
Lonte Morton, Virginia Union
Keywan Morgan, Saint Augustine’s
Jalen Cousar, Fayetteville State
Tyler Bembry, Chowan

Daryll Ellison, Bowie State
Nigel Peele, Fayetteville State
Malik Sexton, Virginia State

Defensive Backs
Jaleel Scroggins, Shaw
Deion Miller, Lincoln (PA)
Sidney Lawson, Saint Augustine’s
Roy Garris, Jr., Saint Augustine’s

Punt Returner
Lenwood Joyner, Saint Augustine’s

All-Rookie Team

Dominique Graves, Winston-Salem State
Jacob Young, Fayetteville State
John Darby, IV, Saint Augustine’s
Malik Bellamy, Bowie State
Tyrese Bobbitt, Shaw
Andre Jackson, Virginia State
Antonio Wallace, Johnson C. Smith
Tayonte McKenzie, Lincoln (PA)
Anthony Berry, Saint Augustine’s
David Keck, Chowan
Jemourri Lapierre, Virginia State

Joshua Pryor, Bowie State
Connor O’Brien, Chowan
Jamal Hampton, Chowan
Joseph Harris, Saint Augustine’s
Kwabe Boateng, Virginia State
Dominick Bryant, Saint Augustine’s
D’Rico Cook, Lincoln (PA)
Na’Shawn Reid-Carlos, Virginia State
Mark Shannon, Shaw
Tayonte McKenzie, Lincoln (PA)
Brandon Jackson, Saint Augustine’s

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top