Alabama State

Alabama State’s Williams officially honored as FCS Administrator of the year

Announced in July, Williams finally honored on Tuesday

Courtesy: Alabama State Athletics

ATLANTA, Ga. | Alabama State Director of Intercollegiate Athletics, Jennifer Lynne Williams, was officially recognized and awarded the FCS Administrator of the Year by the Women Leaders in College Sports – the nation’s premier women’s athletic leadership association – in Atlanta Tuesday afternoon.

The recipients were honored at the Jostens Administrator of the Year Luncheon at the 2018 Women Leaders National Convention in Atlanta – which was emceed by Maria Taylor, college sports analyst, and reporter for ESPN. Nominated by their peers and selected by the Women Leaders Awards Committee for their service during 2017-2018, Williams joined a list of seven other award winners that include: Maggie McKinley, Executive Senior Associate Director of Athletics/Senior Woman Administrator, University of Cincinnati (NCAA Division I FBS),      Dena Freeman-Patton, Deputy Athletics Director, California State University, Bakersfield (NCAA Division I), Carrie Michaels, Associate Director of Athletics/Senior Woman Administrator, Shippensburg University (NCAA Division II), Stevie Baker-Watson, Associate Vice President for Campus Wellness & Theodore Katula Director of Athletics and Recreational Sports, DePauw University (NCAA Division III), Val Ackerman, Commissioner, Big East Conference (Association/Organization), Jill Jokerst-Harter, Director of Athletics, St. Louis College of Pharmacy (NAIA/NJCAA/CC) and Dr. Amy Wilson, Director of Inclusion, National Collegiate Athletic Association (Nell Jackson award winner).

The Administrator of the Year Award is presented to Women Leaders in College Sports members for significant contributions made as an administrator of intercollegiate athletics. This award, recognizing administrative excellence, is presented annually to members in each NCAA division: Division I, FBS, FCS, Division II, Division III, NAIA/NJCAA or Conference/Organization.

The Nell Jackson Administrator of the Year Award is presented annually to an athletics administrator who exemplifies the personal qualities and professional accomplishments of Dr. Nell Jackson. This award is given to an individual who demonstrates qualities such as courage, conviction, and perseverance, and who is an advocate for gender equity and diversity. This award honors athletics administrators who are NCAA/Women Leaders in College Sports Institute for Administrative Advancement graduates, and demonstrate vision and outstanding leadership.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top