NCCU to Induct Eight Individuals into Athletics Hall of Fame

Courtesy of NCCU Athletics

DURHAM, N.C. – Eight individuals have been selected for induction into the Alex M. Rivera NCCU Athletics Hall of Fame on Oct. 14, North Carolina Central University announced on Thursday (July 6).

The eight individuals are Rena Armwood (volleyball, 1996-99/softball, 1998-99, 2005-06), member of four conference championship teams in two sports and 1999 CIAA Volleyball Tournament MVP; Cheryl Bogues Munn (softball/basketball, 1989-93), NCAA Division II single-season softball record holder in stolen bases and NCCU basketball record holder in single-game steals; Anthony Cooley (football, 1988-91), three-time All-CIAA First Team honoree and one of only two Eagles in school history with a 1,000-yard receiving season; William Frizzell (football, 1980-83), First-Team All-CIAA defensive back with 10 career interceptions and NFL draft pick with 10 seasons as a professional athlete; Cassie King (basketball, 2003-07), all-time leading scorer in NCCU women’s basketball history and 2007 CIAA Tournament MVP; Robert Lawson (meritorious service – posthumously), longtime NCCU photographer who started taking pictures of NCCU athletics in 1962 and received NCCU Athletics Lifetime Achievement Award in 2014; Hakeem Mohammed (track & field, 2003-07), seven-time NCAA Division II All-American and 2007 national champion in the 400-meter dash; and Davita Watson Morant (volleyball, 1996-99), record-breaker in NCCU career kills, blocks and service aces and 1998 CIAA Volleyball Player of the Year.

The 2017 induction ceremony will take place the morning of Oct. 14, prior to the NCCU home football contest against Gardner-Webb University. Details will be announced at a later date.

For more information about the Alex M. Rivera NCCU Athletics Hall of Fame, visit

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top