Tuskegee Three Games Away From Joining HBCU National Champion Ranks

When most people think of national championships, the only thing that comes to mind is The Big Dance, AKA the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament. And while it is clearly the most well-known national championship in college basketball, it is far from the only one.

While Texas Southern and North Carolina Central have both been eliminated from March Madness, Tuskegee is still in the hunt for the Divsion II national title, as they face Metro State in the Elite Eight at 3:30 PM EST on Wednesday. 

If the SIAC champs were to win the national title, they would be the tenth time an HBCU has won the crown.The previous winners include:

*Winston-Salem State (1967)
*Morgan State (1974)
*Cheyney State (1978)
*Virginia Union (1980, ’92, ’06)
*UDC (1982)
*NC Central (1989)

HBCUs have also won several NAIA National Titles.

Virginia Union (1983), Hampton (1988) and Shaw (2012) have all won NCAA Division II Titles in the women’s ranks. Rust College won the Division III national title in 1984.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top