All-SIAC conference selections

After ten weeks of play the best of the best are honored in the SIAC.

ATLANTA–Just one day ahead of the SIAC Championship game between Tuskegee and Fort Valley State University, the conference has announced its Players of the Year, All-SIAC selections and Coach of the Year.

Miles running back Justin Hardy was selected as the Player of the Year (MVP) in the SIAC, as well as Offensive Player of the Year. Tuskegee linebacker Osband Thompson was named Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive year. Fort Valley State quarterback Slade Jarmon was named Newcomer of the Year while his head coach Kevin Porter was named Coach of the Year. Miles defensive lineman MarQuel Shelton was named Freshman of the Year.

Offensive Player of the Year and League MVP


Justin Hardy

Justin Hardy, a junior from Homewood, Ala., leads the SIAC in total rushing yards (1,197), yards per game (119.7), rushing touchdowns (12), total touchdowns (13), and scoring (78 points). He is currently ninth in Division II in rushing yards and had six 100-yard games and four games with more than 165 yards, including a 210-yard, three touchdown effort against Central State.

Hardy had eight plays of more than 50 yards and three touchdown runs of longer than 80 yards, including a SIAC-long 86-yard touchdown run against Clark Atlanta.



Defensive Player of the Year


Osband Thompson

Tuskegee linebacker Osband Thompson has won the Defensive Player of the Year award for the second straight season. Thompson has 117 tackles on the season, the second most in the nation. The senior from Miami, Florida is 34 tackles ahead of the second-leading tackler in the SIAC. Thompson is the first TU linebacker to lead the team in interceptions (4) since Jewell Ratlif did so in 2015. Thompson was voted as preseason Defensive Player of the Year this summer and did nothing to leave any doubt in voter’s minds all season long.

Coach of the Year

Kevin Porter, in his second season, has led Fort Valley State to a 5-4 record and a second straight Eastern Division title after going 5-1 in conference play. He has won 10 games in his two seasons at FVSU and will look to win a second SIAC title in as many years.  Porter will face Tuskegee as a head coach for the first time in his career at FVSU.

Freshman of the Year:

MarQuel Shelton, a true freshman defensive end for Miles College, had a fantastic first year of college football. He had 41 tackles and is also tied for the league lead in sacks (9.5) and third in tackles for loss (14). His best performance came against Clark Atlanta, setting his single-game career highs in tackles (seven), solo tackles (six), tackles for loss (3.5), and sacks (2.5).


Newcomer of the Year:

Slade Jarmon, a junior from Pensacola, Fla., is the conference leader in passing efficiency (141.5) and is second in passing yards (182.2) and total offense (199) per game. He completed 119-of-207 passes for 1,640 yards and 14 touchdowns. Jarmon rushed for two more scores during the season. Jarmon had two really standout games where he threw for four touchdown passes.

All-SIAC First Team

The All-Conference team features three student-athletes who were selected at multiple positions. Kentucky State’s Brett Sylve earned three spots on the team, with First Team nods at running back and kick returner. He was also a Second Team pick at punt returner. Miles’ Nick Christiansen was selected as the First Team kicker and punter.  Clark Atlanta’s Deandre Jackson was named as a First Team wide receiver and a Second Team kick returner.

Johnathon McCrary Quarterback Clark Atlanta Ellenwood, Ga
Rodney Morris Tight End Clark Atlanta Atlanta, Ga
Deandre Jackson Wide Receiver Clark Atlanta Atlanta, Ga
Okechi Ntiasagwe Wide Receiver Benedict Columbia, SC
Justin Hardy Running Back Miles Homewood, AL
Brett Sylve Running Back Kentucky State Hammond, La.
Jamie Glenn Offensive Lineman Albany State Snellville, Ga
Derrick Tucker Offensive Lineman Miles Sweet Water, Ala.
Justin Brown Offensive Lineman Benedict Marietta, Ga
Darrius Hicks Offensive Lineman Fort Valley State Camilla, Ga
Leward Brown Offensive Lineman Tuskegee Miami, FL
Kaelan Bonds Defensive Lineman Miles Florence, Ala.
Marquel Shelton Defensive Lineman Miles Bessemer, Ala.
Rodriquez Jones Defensive Lineman Kentucky State Hampton, Va.
Zavondric Shingleton Defensive Lineman Albany State Millen, Ga
David Smith Linebacker Morehouse Newport News, VA
Osband Thompson Linebacker Tuskegee Miami, Fl.
Anthony Hardy Linebacker Miles Demopolis, Ala.
Jawaski Randle Defensive Back Miles Albany, Ga
Jonah McCutcheaon Defensive Back Tuskegee Mobile, Ala.
Cameron Young Defensive Back Fort Valley State Eastman, Ga
Charles Dudley Defensive Back Lane Douglassville, Ga
Nick Christiansen Kicker Miles Clayton, NC
Nick Christiansen Punter Miles Clayton, NC
Brett Sylve Kick Returner Kentucky State Hammond, La.
Lorenzo Smothers Punt Returner Fort Valley State Buena Vista, Ga

All-SIAC Second Team

Slade Jarmon Quarterback Fort Valley State Pensacola, Fl
Ryan Edwards Tight End Morehouse Atlanta, Ga
Johnathon Sanders Wide Receiver Clark Atlanta East Point, Ga
Amyr Smith Wide Receiver Morehouse Atlanta, Ga
Hoderick Lowe Running Back Tuskegee Atlanta, Ga
McKinley Habersham Running Back Albany State Savannah, Ga
Marcus Campbell Offensive Lineman Kentucky State Radcliff, Ky.
Roger Womack Offensive Lineman Miles Birmingham, Ala.
Craig Hinson Offensive Lineman Benedict Hephzibah, Ga
Max Williams Offensive Lineman Clark Atlanta Marianna, Fl.
Tedric Cofield Offensive Lineman Albany State Atlanta, Ga
Demetrius Harris Defensive Lineman Fort Valley State Decatur, Ga
Antonio Johnson Defensive Lineman Morehouse Birmingham, Ala.
Bundrea Conway Defensive Lineman Morehouse Lansing, MI
Walter Tucker Defensive Lineman Fort Valley State Melrose, Fl.
Austin Stephens Linebacker Miles Mumford, Ala.
Kailen Abrams Linebacker Central State Detroit, Mi.
Marquez Thomas Linebacker Albany State Perry, Ga
Quantavious Singletary Defensive Back Clark Atlanta Moultrie, Ga.
Nicco Whigham Defensive Back Fort Valley State North Lauderdale, Fl.
Jaylin Boyd Defensive Back Albany State Fairburn, Ga
Edward Kirkland Defensive Back Benedict Columbia, SC
Juan Serna Kicker Fort Valley State Douglassville, Ga
Tory Mimbs Punter Benedict Sandersville, Ga
Deandre Jackson Kick Returner Clark Atlanta Atlanta, Ga
Brett Sylve Punt Returner Kentucky State Hammond, La.






Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top