2019 Football

Bowie State racks up CIAA awards, all-conference honors

Defending champion Bowie State dominates the All-CIAA accolades and all-conference honors.

Courtesy: CIAA

CHARLOTTE, NC – The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) announces its 2019 Football All-Conference Teams and superlatives as voted on by the CIAA Football Coaches Association and Sports Information Directors Association. This year’s teams are led by Offensive Player of the Year Ja’rome Johnson and Defensive Player of the Year Demetri Morsell, both from Bowie State, and Special Teams Player of the Year Jefferson Souza of Virginia Union.

Johnson Bowie

In his first season as a starter, Johnson led the league with a 170.5 pass efficiency rating, currently ninth best in Division II, and ranked second in total offense at 227 yards per game. A native of Washington, DC, Johnson finished the regular season with 1507 yards passing, 21 touchdowns, and a 62.4 completion percentage, ranking top four or better in the CIAA in all three categories. The junior signal-caller was also the conference’s sixth-leading rusher with 771 yards and fourth with 11 rushing touchdowns, leading all CIAA quarterbacks in both statistics. Johnson and the Bulldog offense led the CIAA with 44.4 points per game.

Morsell, a native of Upper Marlboro, MD, led the CIAA with nine interceptions with three being returned for touchdowns, both of which lead Division II. The sophomore defensive back also leads the conference with 14 passes defended while totaling 31 tackles in ten games. Morsell helped a Bowie State defensive unit hold teams to a league-best 16.3 points per contest.

Souza led all CIAA kickers with 15 made field goals on 16 attempts with a long of 49 yards, also tops in the league. The junior from Deerfield Beach, FL leads Division II with a 93.8 field goal percentage and is the CIAA’s third-leading scorer at 8.1 points per game (73 total). Souza also ranks seventh in the league with a 35.3 punting average.

Bowie State Head Coach Damon Wilson was voted CIAA Coach of the Year by league media and coaches. Wilson led Bowie State to an undefeated 10-0 regular season and a second straight CIAA Northern Division title. His team is currently ranked #13 nationally in Division II and the only undefeated HBCU in the country. Wilson has led the Bulldogs to back-to-back appearances in the CIAA Championship game.

Leading the All-Rookie selections are Offensive Rookie of the Year Emanuel Wilson of Johnson C. Smith and Defensive Rookie of the Year Jonathan Ross of Bowie State. Wilson, a running back from Charlotte, NC, led all CIAA rookies with 1,040 rushing yards and 6.5 yards per carry, ranking third in the league in both categories, while leading all freshmen with 13 rushing touchdowns, second-best in the conference. A defensive lineman from Waldorf, MD, Ross finished with 34 total tackles while leading all CIAA rookies with 11 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks, finishing within the top 15 among league leaders in both.

Bowie State leads the way with 10 All-CIAA selections followed by Fayetteville State and Shaw with seven selections each. Saint Augustine’s had the most all-rookie selections with five followed by Bowie State and Shaw with four apiece.

Offensive Player of the Year – QB Ja’rome Johnson, Bowie State
Defensive Player of the Year – DB Demetri Morsell, Bowie State
Special Teams Player of the Year – P/K Jefferson Souza, Virginia Union
Offensive Rookie of the Year – RB Emanuel Wilson, Johnson C. Smith
Defensive Rookie of the Year – DL Jonathan Ross, Bowie State
Coach of the Year – Damon Wilson, Bowie State

First Team All-CIAA

Tight End
Dushon David, Bowie State

Offensive Linemen
Greg Brooks, Fayetteville State
Keanu Gonzales, Shaw
Donald Boone, Chowan
Kion Smith, Fayetteville State
Frank Ball, Virginia State

Wide Receivers
Charles Hall, Virginia Union
Dajuan Greene, Elizabeth City State

Ja’rome Johnson, Bowie State

Running Backs
Deshaun Wethington, Chowan
Stevie Green, Fayetteville State

Kick Returner
Zion Riddick, Elizabeth City State

Place Kicker
Jefferson Souza, Virginia Union

Defensive Linemen
Solomon Bassett, Lincoln (PA)
Keyshawn James, Fayetteville State
Ziah Gibson, Livingstone
Joshua Pryor, Bowie State

Durrell Nash, Saint Augustine’s
Kalen Allen, Winston-Salem State
Ta’Shaun Taylor, Winston-Salem State

Defensive Backs
Sterling Hammond, Virginia Union
Demetri Morsell, Bowie State
Jaleel Scroggins, Shaw
Daryus Skinner, Winston-Salem State

Punt Returner
Braxton Gambrell, Johnson C. Smith

Kenny Amaya, Bowie State

Second Team All-CIAA

Tight End
Kevonta Moses, Shaw

Offensive Linemen
Alvin Brown, Johnson C. Smith
John Robinson, Bowie State
Jaylan Galloway, Fayetteville State
Christopher Wissmann, Bowie State
Aaron Ray, Chowan

Wide Receivers
Imeek Watkins, Chowan
Dah’mear Triplett, Lincoln (PA)

Bryce Witt, Chowan

Running Backs
Emanuel Wilson, Johnson C. Smith
Sidney Gibbs, Shaw

Kick Returner
Johnnie Glaspie, Fayetteville State

Place Kicker
Gene Carson, Bowie State

Defensive Linemen
Rafiq Abdul-Wahid, Chowan
Dast Sturkie, Shaw
James Dumas, Bowie State
Javon Frazier, Virginia State

Tyrone Glanton, Virginia Union
Nigel Peele, Fayetteville State
David Francis, Johnson C. Smith

Defensive Backs
Josh Flowers, Winston-Salem State
Kevin Sherman, Shaw
Camerron Ellis, Johnson C. Smith
Tevin Singleton, Bowie State

Punt Returner
Marquis Gorham, Shaw

Brandon Howard, Johnson C. Smith
CIAA All-Rookie Team

Sidney Gibbs, Shaw
Emanuel Wilson, Johnson C. Smith
Darius Hagans, Virginia State
D’Ontre Gilliard, Saint Augustine’s
Dah’mear Triplett, Lincoln (PA)
Antavious Zachery, Shaw
Jaelin Shaw, Winston-Salem State
Andre Labat, Saint Augustine’s
Dakota McLendon, Fayetteville State
Victor Olayinka, Bowie State
Maurice Nelson, Saint Augustine’s

Jordan Carter, Bowie State
Tyson Green, Fayetteville State
Raymond Boone, Bowie State
Akeythio Carson, Shaw
Jordan Ferguson, Fayetteville State
Tim Montague, Saint Augustine’s
Cameron Smith, Chowan
Da’Shawn Wallace, Shaw
Jonathan Ross, Bowie State
Booker Peake, Saint Augustine’s
Aristotle Bowles, Chowan

Bowie State racks up CIAA awards, all-conference honors
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top