Bowie State

Winston-Salem State predicted to win CIAA for seventh time in a row

CIAA predicted order of finish revealed ahead of media day.

The more things change, the more they stay the same in the CIAA.

Winston-Salem State, the two-time defending CIAA champs, is predicted to win the CIAA for the seventh year in a row. WSSU has won the CIAA title in four of the past six seasons (’11-12, ’15-16) and returns the bulk of its starters, including four members of the preseason All-CIAA team.

Bowie State, who lost to WSSU in both the 2015 and 2016 CIAA Championship Games is predicted to win the Northern Division.

The two Virginia schools, Virginia State and Virginia Union are predicted to finish third and fourth respectively while Fayetteville State is predicted to finish behind WSSU in the Southern Division.

Predicted Order of Finish
1. Winston-Salem State
2. Bowie State
3. Virginia State
4. Virginia Union
5. Fayetteville State
6. Chowan
7. Elizabeth City State
8. Saint Augustine’s
9. Shaw
10. Johnson C. Smith
11. Livingstone
12. Lincoln (PA)

Northern Division
1. Bowie State
2. Virginia State
3. Virginia Union
4. Chowan
5. Elizabeth City State
6. Lincoln (PA)

Southern Division
1. Winston-Salem State
2. Fayetteville State .
3. Saint Augustine’s
4. Shaw
5. Johnson C. Smith
6. Livingstone



  1. Pingback: CIAA Football TV sked light on games, heavy on Virginia State - HBCU Gameday

  2. Pingback: QB race wide open at Fayetteville State - HBCU Gameday

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top