Bowie State

Amir Hall repeats as Deacon Jones Trophy Winner

Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall becomes the first player to repeat as the Deacon Jones Trophy winner.

Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall won his second consecutive Deacon Jones Trophy on Saturday night.

The award is given by the Black College Football Hall of Fame to the Black College Football Player of the Year.  He beat out a tough selection that included Alcorn State quarterback, Noah Johnson and North Carolina A&T defensive back, Darryl Johnson Jr. 

Hall also won the Black College Player of the Year award in 2017 after throwing for over 3500 yards and 41 touchdowns. 

Setting Records

In his senior season, Hall led the Bulldogs to a 10-3 season and their first CIAA Football Championship. Hall also broke the CIAA record for career touchdown passes during the game against Elizabeth City State.  Hall led the division in passing yards with 2,992. He also threw for 23 touchdowns.

Hall recently participated in the NFLPA Bowl on January 19th. While he only received one snap, he follows in the footsteps of HBCU alumni Tarik Cohen, Trent Cannon and Brandon Parker, who were drafted after being invited to the NFLPA bowl.

Hall and Cohen (2016) are the only two winners of the award. Hall was also recognized as the HBCU Gameday/Protect Your Skull Offensive Player of The Year for the second year in a row.




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top