2017-2018 Basketball

CIAA names 2018 First-Team and All-Rookie Honors

The CIAA announces their First-Team and All-Rookie players for the 2018 season.



Charlotte, NC (February 26, 2018) – The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA), with its Men’s and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association and Sports Information Directors Association, announces the 2018 Men’s & Women’s All-CIAA First Team and All-Rookie honorees. These outstanding student-athletes will be formally recognized today during the annual Tip-Off Awards Luncheon.

Johnson C. Smith University garnered three men’s honorees with Robert Davis III, Roddric Ross, and Christian Kirchman. Saint Augustine’s University and Shaw University clinched two spots each with Quincy January (St. Augustine’s), Tyre Gathright (St. Augustine’s), Savon Goodman (Shaw), and DeAngelo Stephens-Bell (Shaw). The All-Conference team was complete with the addition of William Crandell (Winston-Salem State University), Richard Granberry (Virginia State University), Josh Bryant (Fayetteville State University), Omari George (Bowie State University), and Roger Ray (Livingstone College).

On the women’s side the VUU Lady Panthers led the way with three honorees, including the team’s only freshman, in Shareka McNeill, Alexis Johnson, and Rachael Pecota. Both Virginia State and Chowan University contributed two athletes to the women’s roster with Alexis Smith & Chrisanna Green and Chantel Roberts & Dhyamond Crenshaw, respectively. Lincoln (PA) University’s Michelle Fitzgerald, Winston-Salem State’s Kandace Tate, Saint Augustine’s Kaaliya Williams, Bowie’s State’s Kyah Proctor, and Jalyn Brown of Elizabeth City State University rounded out the 12-team list.

The Men’s All-Rookie Team includes Rashad George (Saint Augustine’s), Zaccheus Hoobs (Elizabeth City State), Jordan Peebles (Virginia Union), and Jordan Camper & Deaquan Williams, both of Lincoln (PA).

The Women’s All-Rookie team consists of Virginia Union twins Shareka McNeill and Shameka McNeill, Livingstone’s Taylor Perkins, La’Zarea Bowens of Johnson C. Smith, and Winston-Salem State’s Teara Johnson.

Men’s Front Court
#1 Quincy January Saint Augustine’s
#20 Omari George Bowie State
#32 Richard Granberry Virginia State
#1 Roddric Ross Johnson C. Smith
#22 William Crandell Winston-Salem State
#20 Josh Bryant Fayetteville State
#5 Savon Goodman Shaw
Men’s Back Court
#4 Roger Ray Livingstone
#11 Robert Davis III Johnson C. Smith
#2 Christian Kirchman Johnson C. Smith
#2 DeAngelo Stephens-Bell Shaw
#20 Tyre Gathright Saint Augustine’s


Women’s Front Court
#14 Rachael Pecota Virginia Union
#10 Chrisanna Green Virginia State
#24 Dyhamond Crenshaw Chowan
#23 Alexis Johnson Virginia Union
#11 Michelle Fitzgerald Lincoln (PA)
#3 Kandace Tate Winston-Salem State
#30 Kaaliya Williams Saint Augustine’s
Women’s Back Court
#3 Kyah Proctor Bowie State
#4 Shareka McNeill Virginia Union
#11 Jalyn Brown Elizabeth CIty State
#1 Alexis Smith Virginia State
#2 Chantel Roberts Chowan



Men’s All-Rookie Team
#4 Rashad George Saint Augustine’s
#12 Deaquan Williams Lincoln (PA)
#0 Zaccheus Hobbs Elizabeth City State
#15 Jordan Peebles Virginia Union
#22 Jordan Camper Lincoln (PA)


Women’s All-Rookie Team
#3 Shameka McNeill Virginia Union
#4 Shareka McNeill Virginia Union
#1 Taylor Perkins Livingstone
#14 La’Zarea Bowens Johnson C. Smith
#12 Teara Johnson Winston-Salem State


CIAA Player, Rookie, and Coach of the Year honors will be announced during today’s Tip-Off Luncheon.

For more information regarding the 2018 CIAA Basketball Tournament, visit Follow the CIAA on social media via Facebook (TheCIAA), Twitter (@CIAAForLife), Instagram (@CIAASports), or download the CIAA mobile app available for Apple and Android devices.







Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top