Connect with us

Three Pro Football HOFers, Cowboys up for Black College Football HOF

The finalists for the Black College Football Hall of Fame are out, and once again, it’s an impressive class of potential inductees.

Among them are three Pro Football Hall of Fame inductees: Aeneas Williams of Southern, Len Ford of Morgan State and Emmitt Thomas of Bishop College.

The class is also heavy with former Dallas Cowboys, including Everson Walls (Grambling), Timmy Newsome (Winston-Salem State) and Jethro Pugh (Elizabeth City State).

  • Joe “747” Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)
  • Coy Bacon (DL, Jackson State University, 1964-1967)
  • Emerson Boozer (RB, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, 1962-1965)
  • Ken Burrough (WR, Texas Southern University, 1966-1969)
  • Harold Carmichael (WR, Southern University, 1967-1970)
  • Raymond Chester (TE, Morgan State University, 1966-1969)
  • Parnell “Paydirt” Dickinson (QB, Mississippi Valley State University, 1972-1975)
  • Len Ford (DL, Morgan State University, 1944-1945)
  • Earl “Air” Harvey (QB, North Carolina Central University, 1985-1988)
  • Harold Jackson (WR, Jackson State University, 1965-1968)
  • Gary “Big Hands” Johnson (DL, Grambling State University, 1971-1974)
  • Leo “Lincoln Locomotive” Lewis (RB, Lincoln University, 1951-1954)
  • Tyrone McGriff (OL, Florida A&M University, 1976-1979)
  • Timothy Newsome (RB/KR, Winston Salem State University, 1976-1979)
  • Jethro Pugh (DE, Elizabeth City State University, 1961-1964)
  • Isiah Robertson (DB, Southern University 1967-1970)
  • Otis Taylor (WR, Prairie View A&M University, 1961-1964)
  • Emmitt Thomas (QB/DB, Bishop College, 1962-1965)
  • Everson Walls (DB, Grambling State University, 1977-1980)
  • Aeneas Williams (CB, Southern University, 1987-1990)
  • Joe Gilliam, Sr. (Defensive Coordinator, Tennessee State University, 1963-1983)
  • Ralph Waldo Emerson Jones (President, Grambling State University, 1936-1977)
  • James Frank (President, Lincoln University, President NCAA and Southwestern Athletic Conference Commissioner)
  • Lloyd C. A. “Judge” Wells (AFL/NFL scout for the Kansas City Chiefs)
  • Kenneth Free (Commissioner, Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, 1978 -1996)
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Get Email Notifications

Subscribe today and never miss another HBCU Gameday post

Taking my Talents to Gameday

Shop HBCU Gameday


HBCU Gameday on ROKU



Advertisement Enter ad code here

Advertise with HBCU Gameday


More in Misc

%d bloggers like this: