Connect with us

CIAA Football Championships By School

Morgan State: 19 

Morgan State left the CIAA in 1970, and nearly 45 years later, it still owns the conference title record. Morgan won 11 championships in 14 years in the 30s and 40s.

Hampton: 13

Hampton was the first dominant team in the CIAA, winning nine of the first 17 titles awarded. After a dry spell that lasted more than 50 years, Hampton won four titles in its final 10 CIAA seasons before leaving for the MEAC.

Virginia State:11 

VSU has had several periods of dominance, starting back in the Great Depression. The Trojans returned to glory with a 21-17 win over Winston-Salem State in November.

Virginia Union: 10 

VUU won six CIAA Championships from 1972 to 1985, but have claimed just one since then (2001).

Kermit Blount

Winston-Salem State: 10 

A member of the conference since 1946, it took the Rams 30 years to win their first conference championship. Since then, they’ve claimed ten CIAA Championships, most recently in 2011 and 2012.

North Carolina Central: 8

NCCU won five titles from 1953 to 1963 as NC College for Negroes and then added three more as NC Central before leaving for the MEAC for the second time.

Charlie Westmoreland

A&T: 5 

Four of the team’s five championships game from 1950 to ’64.

Shaw: 5

Shaw won four of its five titles after reinstating its football program in the early 2000s.

Norfolk State: 4

NSU won three-straight CIAA Championships in the mid-70s (74-76) and another in 1984.

Fayetteville State: 3

FSU’s three titles have all come since the turn of the millennium.

Maryland State: 3

Maryland State was a CIAA power in the 1950s, winning three titles in a five-year span.

West Virginia State: 2

WV State won championships in 1948 and 1952 before leaving the conference.


Back-to-back championships in 1997 and 1998 are as good as its ever gotten for the Blue Bears of Salisbury.

Johnson C. Smith: 1

Despite playing in the first-ever black college football game, Johnson C. Smith has just one CIAA title to its credit.

Delaware State: 1

DSU finished in a three-way tie for the 1956 title along with NCCU and Morgan State.

Elizabeth City State: 1

Elizabeth City has just one title in its bag (1971), though it has several recent appearances in the championship game.

Howard: 1

Howard won the league’s first championship in 1912, and never finished first again.

Lincoln: 1

Led by star Jazz Byrd, Lincoln U won the 1924 title.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Dennis W. Ellis

    November 14, 2014 at 5:56 am

    North Carolina Central University Was Called “North Carolina College at Durham” (1947 -1969) during the period of time regarding NCCU's first five CIAA Football Championships that you have kindly made reference to. Learn More About NCCU's History @ Thank You and Keep Up Your Outstanding Work With Your HBCU GAMEDAY Web site. May God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

Get Email Notifications

Subscribe today and never miss another HBCU Gameday post

Taking my Talents to Gameday

Shop HBCU Gameday


HBCU Gameday on ROKU



Advertisement Enter ad code here

Advertise with HBCU Gameday


More in

%d bloggers like this: