Connect with us

WSSU’s Maynor, BCU’s Jenkins Named Regional AFCA COYs

WSSU’s Connell Maynor has just been named AFCA Regional Coach of The Year. (WS Journal Photo)

Just a few days after his team to a thrilling playoff win over IUP, Winston-Salem State’s Connell Maynor reached another milestone. The thirdyear coach was just named American Coaches Football Association (AFCA) Region II Coach of The Year. Other winners include Notre Dame’s Bryan Kelly and Dino Babers of Eastern Illinois.  
Maynor led Winston-Salem State (13-0) to its second consecutive undefeated regular season, and has the Rams in the Division II Semifinals for the second time in as many years. 

Bethune-Cookman’s Brian Jenkins was also recognized in Region 2 of the FCS Subdivision.  Jenkins led the Wildcats to the MEAC Championship in 2012. 

The 2012 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2013 AFCA Convention in Nashville, Tennessee. 

2012 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners
Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Charlie Strong, University of Louisville
Region 2: Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M University*
Region 3: Brian Kelly, University of Notre Dame
Region 4: Bill Snyder, Kansas State University
Region 5: Mike Riley, Oregon State University
Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Sean McDonnell, University of New Hampshire
Region 2: Brian Jenkins, Bethune-Cookman University & Chuck Priore, Stony Brook University (tie)
Region 3: Dino Babers, Eastern Illinois University
Region 4: Trent Miles, Indiana State University
Region 5: Rob Ash, Montana State University & Willie Fritz, Sam Houston State University* (tie)
Division II 
Region 1: Mark Maciejewski, Shippensburg University
Region 2: Connell Maynor, Winston-Salem State University
Region 3: Lee Owens, Ashland University
Region 4: Don Carthel, West Texas A&M University
Region 5: Aaron Keen, Minnesota State University-Mankato
Division III
Region 1: Mike Cragg, Hobart College
Region 2: Tom Watts, Ohio Wesleyan University
Region 3: Pete Fredenburg, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Region 4: Larry Kehres, University of Mount Union*
Region 5: Patrick Cerroni, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Region 1: Bill Cronin, Georgetown College (Ky.)*
Region 2: Ted Karras, Jr., Marian University*
Region 3: Paul Troth, Missouri Valley College
Region 4: Steve Ryan, Morningside College* 
Region 5: Chuck Morrell, Montana Tech

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Get Email Notifications

Subscribe today and never miss another HBCU Gameday post

Taking my Talents to Gameday

Shop HBCU Gameday


HBCU Gameday on ROKU



Advertisement Enter ad code here

Advertise with HBCU Gameday


More in

%d bloggers like this: